c1911 Abingdon 'King Dick' 794cc Motorcycle
|Engine||Single, 499cc to V-twin, 794cc (see amendment)|
|Colour||Green & White|
Founded in Birmingham in 1856 as a tool maker under the King Dick brand, the Abingdon Engineering Co. branched into building motorcycles in 1903, one of many small manufacturers to do so in the area at the time. Ranging from 2 horsepower to 3 1/2 horsepower models in both two-wheel solo motorcycle and tricycle form, Abingdon initially used proprietary engines from the likes of Kerry, Minerva and MMC but ultimately developed their own four-stroke 350cc and 794cc V-twin engines. Although some Abingdon motors were fitted to proprietary frames in Australia, the majority sold here in the period 1909-1914 were imported fully assembled through local agents and the 1911 500cc V-twin uses the patented “Abingdon Spring Fork” telescopic front forks, three-speed hub and belt drive. Two models were available, the 3 ½ horsepower and the 6 horsepower and with pushrod-operated side valves and a unique Abingdon carburettor. Although tool production continues to this day, Abingdon King Dick (as the company was later branded) continued making bikes until 1933 and survivors are few and far between.